Baskerville 0

Picture courtesy of Anna Gordon

First we had to find a piece of MDF. Celeste in Group F , which is my group, kindly let me borrow hers if i carried it with her. I was given the number 0 not to be confused with O or o. 0o. Notice the difference? Oo00o0o0o0o000000ooo

  • 0- zero number ( the one i’d been given)
  • o lower case letter
  • O upper case  letter

Then using a projector we traced our letter to a 50cm lower case X scale. Notice in the picture the x used as reference for the capital A.

After we had traced it on we headed over to the amazing workshop at Chelsea. Now i’m not going to lie i was a little apprehensive of the saws as i didn’t have the best history when them but using the equipment WAS SO MUCH FUN!

I think I fell in love with woodwork a little bit more that day. I sawed my 0 out ( my group mate stella had her letter on the other half of the MDF). I was guided by Stefan how to use the machine saw , drill a hole , and then use the jigsaw. I used a rotating sander to get closer to the line I drew originally on the inside. Then a straight sander machine to do the outer edge. I wish i knew the official names.

i look delicious but my final 0 photo from Chelsea Workbench

Leave a comment